h1

Ode

March 15, 2007

Definition: An ode is a piece of poetry or prose that is addressed to someone or something and which speaks with good feeling or respect.

In terms of topics, an ode can be to anyone or anything.  For example: “An Ode to My Eraser” or “Ode to McDonalds”, and so on.

Ode to My Eraser 

Oh, Eraser on

my pencil top,

I chomp on you

I cannot stop.

 

How many times

have I had this fit,

I try, but I

just cannot quit.

 

As soon as one

mistake’s erased

I hunger for

your spongy taste.

 

“No more!” my mind says,

“Quit, you fool!”

But then my mouth

begins to drool.

 

The pencil rises

on its own.

And then I feel

you at my tongue.

 

My teeth bite in

until they meet,

And soon you’re

lying at my feet.

To September 

I’ve dreaded your arrival,

Looked forward to you, too.

Oh, month of new beginnings,

I’m glad, yet scared, of you.

 

New classes, new teachers,

New chances, new shoes,

Old worries, old habits,

Old friends with new news.

 

You bring each one back.

I’m nervous you’re here,

And excited, September,

You start the school year.

YOUR TASK: Write an Ode of your own.  This ode needs a minimum of three stanzas, and it should rhyme and follow the pattern found in the examples.  Follow the steps for writing an Ode which was discussed in class, and have fun!

21 comments

  1. Ode to My Braces

    Oh braces you
    Lie upon my teeth.
    Well at least I am
    Thankful that I don’t have buckteeth

    I pick on you and you
    Do the same to me
    If it were in my teeth I wonder
    What would happen if there was a stinging bee.

    It’s been a long time with you
    We’ve been through a lot
    But I can’t wait till I let you go cause
    On my cheek, you get caught

    I’ve had you for a year now
    On February twenty-one
    You make up my personality else
    I would give you up for an auction

    Its way too bad I like them
    When they get taken off
    I will say goodbye.
    But I’ll be really glad of how it all pays off!

    Dedicated to my braces.

    P.S. Its not six verses


  2. Ode to my Pinky!

    Oh! Pinky! Oh pinky!
    On the end of my hand,
    So elegant and slim,
    Glamorous and grand,

    I use you with pride,
    And great gratitude,
    And if you’re un-used,
    There’s no attitude,

    When others ignore you,
    I’m using you well,
    To play the piano,
    But not to misspell,

    I have all ten fingers,
    But out of you all,
    I love my two pinkies,
    I will recall,

    I hope not to loose you,
    To never be far,
    Or I will be weary,
    My heart with a scar,

    But until that day,
    To love you, I will,
    Oh Pinky! Oh Pinky!
    You’re here, what a thrill!


  3. I love your “Ode To My Pinky”, Jilliebear! Excellent job on the meter and rhythm of the stanzas.


  4. Ode to my ears

    Oh my wonderful ear.
    I’m glad you’re here.
    Without any ears,
    How will I hear?

    My eyes can’t tell
    When someone sounds the fire alarm bell.
    Neither can my nose.
    Doesn’t trigger a cell.

    My ears are never delaying.
    They tell me what people are saying.
    So when I go to stores,
    I know what I should be paying.

    Some parts are a little off but I’ll try to think of something better.


  5. Ode to my clock

    Oh clock going tic toc
    Don’t ever stop
    for if you do
    I might drop

    Oh clock going tic toc
    You keep me on time
    You tic toc for me to know
    when to dine

    Oh clock going tic toc
    Oh clock I am a fool
    for without you
    I would droll
    Oh clock going tic toc
    going tic toc, going tic toc
    You rock, YES! you rock
    OH! clock going tic toc. OH!


  6. I really liked Omar’s poem, becuse it may be simply but its so right. It makes you slow down and look at the simply things in life that we really take for granted like our ears. Good job Omar keep up the good work


  7. Ode to my hair.

    Oh hair, oh hair.
    You are so fair.
    You make me grin,
    Which is no sin.

    Your brown and long,
    How is that wrong?
    You can go straight or curly
    But definatly not furry.

    When you are cut,
    All said is “But!!”
    I plead hard and cry
    They put in the dye.

    I have to say,
    That I just may,
    Kinda, sorta, like it.
    But I wouldn’t admit!

    I love my hair alot
    And I’ll give it a shot
    Because no matter
    It will not shatter.


  8. Ode to my friends

    Oh friends, oh friends.
    We will be together till the end!
    We can be as hyper,
    Like a kid named Piper.

    We di everything together,
    Just like me and my sweater.


  9. Ode to my homework!

    Oh homework oh!
    I really don’t want to do you
    I think I’ll put it off
    Oh Boo Hoo!!

    When will I have a day
    I don’t have it
    When will I be able to relax
    And in front of the T.V i will sit

    Why do I get it?
    You know I really hate you
    What shall I compare you to
    How about when a crowd yells “boo!”


  10. Ode to My Braces

    Oh braces you
    Lie upon my teeth.
    But what I don’t
    Use you for is eating beef.

    I pick on you and you
    Do the same to me
    But what I hate is that I
    Can not eat anything hard including brownies

    It’s been a long time with you
    We’ve been through a lot
    But I can’t wait till I let you go cause
    On my cheek, you get caught

    I’ve had you for a year now
    On February twenty-one
    You make up my personality else
    I would give you up for an auction

    Its way too bad I like them
    When they get taken off
    I will say goodbye.
    But I’ll be really glad of how it all pays off!

    Dedicated to my braces.

    That last one wasn’t right but this one is at least a little bit better


  11. Ode to My Braces

    Oh braces oh braces
    you lie upon my teeth.
    But what I don’t
    Use you for is eating beef.

    I pick on you and you
    Do the same to me
    But what I hate is that I
    Can not eat anything hard including brownies

    It’s been a long time with you
    We’ve been through a lot
    But I can’t wait till I let you go cause
    On my cheek, you get caught

    I’ve had you for a year now
    On February twenty-one
    You make up my personality else
    I would give you up for an auction

    Its way too bad I like them
    When they get taken off
    I will say goodbye.
    But I’ll be really glad of how it all pays off!

    Dedicated to my braces.

    That last one wasn’t right but this one is at least a little bit better.


  12. Ode to my dog

    oh scooby, oh puppy,
    you’re a brat when you have to pee,
    when you go for a walk,
    you love to talk

    you hardly heel,
    you won’t let my orange peel,
    you’ll snatch it away,
    and won’t even pay

    you twist and turn,
    and the ball you won’t return,
    I run and run,
    But to keep the ball away from me you have to much fun

    Although diabetic,
    and with fights you like to pick,
    you’re still a good dog,
    to run in the bog

    you scratch my back,
    and occasionally you play with a tack,
    you’re the best dog to like,
    except when you eat my pike

    I cuddle you,
    and you cuddle me 2,
    we watch Lots of movies,
    Just you’s and me’s.

    sorry about the form. Just tried to fit everything in.


  13. Ode To The Notes

    Oh notes, Oh notes
    You do so much
    Music, writen
    I can’t touch

    So much value
    So much meaning
    So many uses
    Good for leaning

    OH! Notes Beep! Boob! Boop!
    Ryhming, timing
    OH! Notes Beep! Boob! Boop!
    Chiming, chashing


  14. Ode To The Internet

    Oh Internet, Internet
    How you help me
    You search and search
    But you have a fee

    You search for me
    you show me things I can’t own
    You fly fast
    Sometimes your faster than the phone

    You open doors
    or windows sometimes
    New worlds open all the time
    But I hate to it when I see lines


  15. Ode To My Guitar
    OH! Guitar
    YA! you got that feel, YES! you got that feel
    That soft feel
    But you got the hardest sound I ever could steele

    YA! you got that sound
    I don’t deserive this
    NO! I don’t
    You can’t kiss

    YA! you got it.
    YES! The Blues, Rock, Even Jazz
    you got it
    And looks you got it more than jazz

    YA!! YOU GOT IT
    YES! you got it all, sound and looks
    YA!! YOU GOT IT
    YES! YOU GOT IT ALL


  16. Ode To The Blues

    Oh Blues
    When I’m a singing the Blues
    I’m a not losing
    For many of us are fools

    Ya we are in dept to you
    Our music comes from you
    Rock, Jazz, Rap, Hip Hop.
    You are such a tool

    Ya you rock
    Yes you have power
    over Britain, and North American
    YES!! you rock!

    Thanks to the fathers of the blues: B.B. King, Buddy Guy, Muddy Waters, Albert King( Not Related to B.B. King), Jack Bruce, Eric Clapton, Ginger Baker, Fredie King( Not Related), John Mayall, Buddy Holly, Chuck Berry, and Jimi Hendrix.
    Thank you to the GrandFather of the Blues:Robert Johnson


  17. Ode to my ride
    Oh ride, Oh ride
    How sleek you are
    In you, I have so much pride

    You are so pimpin’
    With all that bling bling
    As we drive by, my hommies say “That’s hot!”
    You make me wanna sing

    When I open the door
    And step out in my diamond Nike’s
    My hood stops and stare
    And say “Dang, I likey”

    I walk to my crib
    Forcing us to be apart
    Seeing you all alone
    Leaves a hole in my heart


  18. Ode to a friend

    oh friend oh friend.
    you always are near.
    without having you,
    is like having no ear.

    You are always there for me,
    I know I can count on you.
    You give me advice and encouragement
    When I dont know what to do.

    This friendship we share
    Is so precious to me,
    I hope it grows and grows
    And lasts into infinity.

    You are so special to me
    And to you I really must tell
    You are my one true friend,
    My Guardian Angel.


  19. we miss our steelerooster teacher.


  20. Ode to My Pencil
    My pencil is a tool
    Fast as a tornado
    Sweeping, swiping, sliding
    Across my paper
    My pencil is a breeze across the sand
    Giving my pictures life
    Raising them like a mother
    Creating another world
    Just as God created ours
    It swooshes down the paper
    Bringing more,
    more,
    And more
    To my creations
    It is my tool
    My weapon
    My friend
    And when it’s finished
    It’s creations are always
    A Rose of Beauty

    by Aditya Rao


  21. Braces
    Start of crooked
    End up straight,
    They might hurt
    But they’ll look great!
    Rubber bands and power chains
    You’ll get used to little pain.
    Broken brackets, and cut lips
    Don’t forget the ortho. trips.
    All this stuff might sound horrific
    In the end it’s quite terrific!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

